To Register or not to Register?

In a Reiki 2 training recently, I was giving advice and guidance on how to set up a Reiki Practice.

100_0291I was lucky to have some very pro-active students who were very keen to get out there and to get healing as soon as possible. One asked me if there was a Reiki Organisation I would suggest she joined? I took a deep breath, asked her to leave the question with me and promised that I would answer her as soon as I knew how.

Funnily enough, I had recently been asking myself the very same question. As I was, myself, a Founder Member of one such body, I used to recommend that organisation. But I left some time ago.

I recalled my reasons for leaving:

  • The benefits were few compared to the cost of the yearly membership.
  • No client ever asked me if I was the member of such an organisation despite the fact that I ran a Complementary Health Centre and practised Reiki on at least three days a week.
  • I had found a very good and economical insurance policy that did not require membership of such a body as a pre-requisite.

Those were the rational reasons. Beneath them ran (and still runs) an ideological unhappiness.

Reiki is becoming increasingly regulated and is losing its beauty and simplicity in the process.

100_0266I looked at the websites for the various organisations and realised that they were all heading in the same direction – Regulation.

Regulation with evidence-based criteria, Continuing Professional Education, minimum hours, supervision, National Occupational Standards and all the rest of the palaver. Not to mention having to prove your lineage back to Dr. Usui.

Now I am the first to admit that all methods of complementary healing need professional ethics and principles – but do we really need to jump through all the hoops required by the various organisations?

At the moment the answer is a resounding ‘no’!

Self-regulation is voluntary – unless you wish to join an organisation. Unfortunately the usual advice given on choosing a Reiki Practitioner is to find one who is insured and a member of a reputable organisation. Personally, I feel there is no substitute for good old personal recommendation.

If you would like to know about the National Occupatonal Standards for Reiki click here. Click here for the Core Curriculum.

So what was my answer?

100_0285Well, after a lot of soul-searching and head-scratching all I could say was that each person must make their own decision. Do the research – online and off – and make a decision that suits you.

For me, I will remain free, unregulated but bound by my own professional ethics, values, compassion and the love I feel for my fellow men and women who are journeying with me on this wonderful planet of ours. This is what I endeavour to pass on to my students.

May you all be blessed.  Namaste

Leave a Reply

