Can you find the Real You?

litch gate

I am.’         The mystery of the real you is symbolised in these words.

I am.’          Simple words describing a simple truth. I exist. I know I exist.

In the silence within your consciousness you can feelI am’ as the eternal Presence of your being. Allow your attention to flow inward. Let the silence reveal that Presence (‘I am’) within you, rooted in peace and oneness. You are eternal consciousness.

Follow your breath. Slow attention to the inhalation and exhalation of your breath allows you to contact your centre and to align with your awareness.

You do not have to think to find the I am Presence, in fact if you do think you will not find it – for then the mind comes in … ‘Do I exist?’  Perhaps not.  How can I prove I exist?  As we identify with thought, idea, imagination and emotion, as we all do, we are distracted from the simplicity of being – ‘I am’ – and this becomes – ‘I think I am not.’

One single, simple thought can divert your attention and distract you from the Presence. Thus, to contact the mystery of ‘I am’ requires detachment from all thought and from identification with the mind.

If a thought comes in, take your attention back to the breath. A separation or a shift occurs naturally, almost automatically. One moment you are aware of thoughts and you are identifying with them and the next you are simply aware of the ‘I am’ Presence.

This is the real you. Complete, whole, pure and unpolluted.seagull

Leave a Reply

